HomeNewsGeorgetownGISD Teachers of the Year

GISD Teachers of the Year

Each year, GISD campuses select a teacher that embodies the GISD vision and mission. This spring, each GISD campus was invited to select a teacher of the year using the Texas Teacher of the Year guidelines set by the Texas Association of School Administrators. Since 1969, the Texas Teacher of the Year (TOY) Program has honored excellence in classroom education and provided a forum to showcase many outstanding educators whose efforts and example have inspired their students, their colleagues, and the communities they serve.

GISD nominations were reviewed by a committee and a single winner was selected for both the elementary and secondary levels. The district winners will go on to the regional competition, for consideration to advance to the state-level. The state winner is then in the running to become the national teacher-of-the-year.

Campus Teachers of the Year

  • Rebecca Greenberg Barnes, Carver Elementary
  • ​​​​​​​Djuana Jadlot, Cooper Elementary
  • Megan Stevenson, Ford Elementary
  • Erin Leleux, Frost Elementary
  • Kelly Richards, McCoy Elementary
  • Minda Egbert, Mitchell Elementary
  • Diane Collman, Purl Elementary
  • Rebecca Kurowski, Pickett Elementary
  • Brian Vickers, Village Elementary
  • Terri Henry, Benold Middle
  • Amy Reid, Forbes Middle
  • Rachel Butler, Tippit Middle
  • Rebecca Rawson, Wagner Middle
  • Shelly Stehling, Williamson County Alternative Education Program
  • Jenny Richardson, Georgetown High
  • Dawn McGuffin Tatum, East View High
  • Pamela Ann Tollison, Georgetown Alternative Program
  • Tina McKay, Richarte High School

District Teacher of the Year winners

  • Secondary – Amy Reid, Forbes Middle School
  • Elementary – Minda Egbert, Mitchell Elementary School

No comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.