HomeNewsGeorgetownCandidate filing for City Council May 2018 Election

Candidate filing for City Council May 2018 Election

The filing period for candidates who wish to run for a seat on the Georgetown City Council began Jan. 17. The places for Districts 1 and 5 will be on the ballot this spring.

Anna Eby is the current council member for District 1 and Ty Gipson is the council member for District 5.

Eby has announced she will run for re-election; Gipson will not seek re-election.

The filing period ends Feb. 16. A packet for prospective candidates is available at City Hall at 113 E. Eighth St. 8am-5pm, Mon-Fri.

To see maps of council districts, go to maps.georgetown.org/council-district-maps.

Georgetown City Council members serve three-year terms representing one of seven single-member districts. A candidate for city council must be 21 years of age and a citizen and qualified voter of the state of Texas and the City of Georgetown. Candidates for council district seats must be a resident of the council district the member would be representing for a period of twelve months as of the last legal date for filing.

The last day to register to vote in the May election is April 5. Early in-person voting is April 23 through May 1. In the Early Voting period, voters may cast ballots at any Early Voting location in Williamson County.

On Election Day on May 5, voters may cast ballots at any vote center location in Williamson County. Polling places, dates, and times will be listed at wilco.org/elections. For details about the city election, contact Shelley Nowling, city secretary for the City of Georgetown, at Shelley.Nowling@georgetown.org or (512) 930-3652.

No comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.