Following is a list of candidates and issues that will appear on our readers’ ballots during early voting Oct 22 – Nov 2 and on Election Day, November 6.

Williamson County has adopted Vote Centers for Election Day voting; i.e., Williamson County voters may vote at any polling place in the county on election day, rather than having to return to their home precinct in order to cast a vote.

Polls will be open from 7am until 7pm on November 6. Election officials will allow everyone who is in line at 7pm to stay as long as necessary to cast a vote.

This General Election is the final in which voters can vote “straight ticket” to select the entire slate of candidates in their chosen party. Texas is one of the last eight states to engage straight ticket since its peak in the 1960s.

Louis Jacobson (Governing.com) reports critics worry that the option keeps voters from thinking critically about all the candidates on the ballot and encourages partisan polarization among voters. Supporters of Texas HB25 say removing the option impacts voters who may make more informed decisions in individual elections. Removing straight ticket may also help voters recognize and vote on important down-ballot questions, bonds and nonpartisan elections, which aren’t covered by the single-ticket mechanism.


United States Senator

  • Ted Cruz (R)
  • Beto O’Rourke (D)

Neal M. Dikeman (L)

United States Rep, Dist 31

  • John Carter (R)
  • Mary Jennings “MJ” Hegar (D)

Jason Hope (L)


Texas Governor

  • Greg Abbott (R)
  • Lupe Valdez (D)
  • Mark Jay Tippetts (L)

Lieutenant Governor

  • Dan Patrick (R)
  • Mike Collier (D)
  • Kerry Douglas McKennon (L)

Attorney General

  • Ken Paxton (R)
  • Justin Nelson (D)
  • Michael Ray Harris (L)

Comptroller of Public Accounts

  • Glenn Hegar (R)
  • Joi Chevalier (D)
  • Ben Sanders (L)

Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • George P. Bush (R)
  • Miguel Suazo (D)
  • Matt Pina (L)

Commissioner of Agriculture

  • Sid Miller (R)
  • Kim Olson (D)
  • Richard Carpenter (L)

Railroad Commissioner

  • Christi Craddick (R)
  • Roman McAllen (D)
  • Mike Wright (L)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 2

  • Jimmy Blacklock (R)
  • Steven Kirkland (D)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4

  • John Devine (R)
  • R.K. Sandill (D)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6

  • Jeff Brown (R)
  • Kathy Cheng (D)

Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

  • Sharon Keller (R)
  • Maria T. (Terri) Jackson (D)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 7

  • Barbara Parker Hervey (R)
  • Ramona Franklin (D)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8

  • Michelle Slaughter (R)
  • Mark Ash (L)

State Senator, District 5

  • Charles Schwertner (R)
  • Meg Walsh (D)
  • Amy Lyons (L)
  • State Representative, District 20
  • Terry Wilson (R)
  • Stephen Wyman (D)

State Representative, District 52 *

  • Cynthia Flores (R)
  • James Talarico (D)

State Representative, District 136

  • Tony Dale (R)
  • John Busy III (D)
  • Zach Parks (L)

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 2

  • Cindy Olson Bourland (R)
  • Edward Smith (D)

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 3

  • Scott Field (R)
  • Chari Kelly (D)

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 5

  • David Puryear (R)
  • Thomas J. Baker (D)

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 6

  • Michael “Mike” Toth (R)
  • Gisela D. Triana (D)

District Judge 277th Judicial District

  • Stacey Mathews (R)

District Judge 368th Judicial District

  • Rick Kennon (R)


Williamson County Judge

  • Bill Gravell (R)
  • Blane Conklin (D)
  • William (Bill) Kelberlau (I)

County  Commissioner Pct 2

  • Cynthia Long (R)
  • Kasey Redus (D)

County  Commissioner Pct 4

  • Russ Boles (R)
  • Carlos Salinas (D)

Judge, County Court-at-Law 1

  • Brandy Hallford (R)
  • Don Morehart (D)

District Clerk

  • Lisa David (R)

County Clerk

  • Nancy E. Rister (R)
  • Jessica Tiedt (D)

County Treasurer

  • Scott Heselmeyer (R)
  • Omar Kadir (D)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1

  • Dain Johnson (R)
  • KT Musselman (D)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2

  • Edna Staudt (R)
  • Audrey Amos-McGehee (D)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3

  • Evelyn McLean (R)
  • Katherine Kerr Kubatzky (D)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4

  • Judy Hobbs (R)
  • Stacy Hackenberg (D)


House District 52 Residents need to vote twice for their State Representative. With the recent resignation of State Representative Larry Gonzales, Governor Abbott has scheduled the special election for the final months of Larry’s term for November 6th. That means, there will be two elections for HD 52 on the ballot. One for the final months of the current term, and another for the new term that begins in January of 2019. In the special election, straight ticket voting does not apply, so everyone will need to vote for Cynthia Flores in the special election.

State Representative, District 52 (Unexpired Term)

  • Cynthia Flores (R)
  • James Talarico (R)



Proposition A

The issuance of $150,500,000 of bonds for the acquisition, construction, renovation and equipment of school buildings, the purchase of school sites and school buses.

Proposition B

The issuance of $15,500,000 of bonds for acquisition, construction and equipment of a District swim center.


Proposition 1

The issuance of $7,500,000 of bonds for School Renovations, Safety and Security, Technology .


Proposition 1

The issuance of $98,600,000 of bonds for New Schools, Renovations and Additions


  • Judge, County Court-at-Law No. 2 Laura Barker (R)
  • Judge, County Court-at-Law No. 3 Doug Arnold (R)
  • Judge, County Court-at-Law No. 4 John B. McMaster (R)

No comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.